top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmina Ijaz

BOOK 3605

From Albania, With Love: A Collection Of True Stories Paperback – Aug. 4 2017

by Migena Dulaj (Author, Editor, Photographer)


TO BUY THE BOOK PLEASE USE THE FOLLOWING LINK: https://amzn.to/3n5a8eW


SUMMARY OF THE BOOK: Most memoirs start with a memorable inspiration, but mine started backwards. I know this is the part of the book which the author would refer to him or herself in third person, and attempt to convince you to purchase this book, but that’s not my style.My style is honesty.This real-life story about a little girl immigrating to the United States from Albania, was a story I never wanted to tell, let alone publish. I never considered it special, until I caught myself altering my name to fit into a society I was not born into. I’m not gonna lie though, I do still change my name when I order at Starbucks – it’s not worth my name being pronounced as close to vagina as you can possibly imagine. They are amazing, but it's not my name. Speaking of coffee, I know it’s crucial (I’m on my third cup right now) and you could spend your money on that instead of this book, but if you decide to read this, I can promise you one thing. Whether I tell you how I learned the confusing mess that is the English language, how I dealt with white America stereotypes, how I became a feminist from a country in which that word does not exist, how I handled the lifelong guilt being an immigrant can bring into your life, or how I ended up making up my own rules for life, it is all with the utmost honesty – featuring embarrassing tales, real people (with fake names), and a sprinkle of swearing.So, buckle in, and get ready to read the most honest story ever.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page